Promiscuous Christmas Tree

© Joy Prescott | Dreamstime.comI went shopping the other day. It wasn’t for Christmas presents, but for groceries. But the grocery stores can be fun too; with the christmas decorations, shelves displaying gift baskets, poinsettias, cool gadgets and toys for kids. I like going anywhere during the Christmas season. However, this year the experience is different in Brussels. I went to the grocery store to find the Christmas section set up with tree ornaments, other house decorations and the fake trees. I was stunned to see the different in the shape and style of decorating the trees here compared to Canada.

First of all, the trees are about 1/3 to 1/4 the size in height, which is a little weird because generally the apartments have very high ceilings. I would describe the trees to look a little “Charlie Brown”-like. They are not as bushy and they branches are concentrated in the middle making the tree look shorter and fat.

© Agno_agnus | Dreamstime.com

Secondly, I saw a fake tree that was completely white. I’m not talking a green tree with white frost, I mean the branches where completely white, like an albino tree. I can’t remember the colors of the decorations on this monstrosity as my attention was immediately grabbed by the “promiscuous” tree to its right. This tree was green, but it was decorated with magenta colored feathered boas and magenta face masks one wears to a masquerade party. I gasped and then had to look away. My Christmas joy was being overthrow which shock and mild disgust. Does any actually dress their tree in these “outfits”? I sure hope not.

My parents informed me that this year they bought new decorations for the Christmas tree. I love the traditional red and green with gold ornaments we’ve had since I can remember. After seeing the “modern” tree decorations at the store in Brussels, I can only hope that the decorations in Canada haven’t changed drastically.

One thing Brussels has on my home town is: Christmas Markets. Yes, tents full of handmade Christmas decorations, stockings, homemade honey, jam and other goodies. They have taste testers available of everything too. I tried some lavender honey and some raspberry jam. They were both the right amount of sweet. I wanted to buy a patio table for the backyard that I don’t have at my apartment and some stocking to hang on the chimney I don’t have. There were so many things like special smelly soaps and intricate figurines. I will definitely be visiting as many Christmas Markets I can. Luckily, the two I’ve been to so far had normal looking decorations on the Christmas trees.

About Nicole Basaraba

Nicole Basaraba is a Canadian writer focusing on topics of travel (Mondays), writing and literature (Wednesdays), lifestyle (Fridays) and her experiences living in the capital city of Europe: Brussels, Belgium.
This entry was posted in Lifestyle, Living in Brussels and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Promiscuous Christmas Tree

  1. Pingback: Christmas trees in Brussels | Nicole Basaraba's Uni-Verse-City

  2. Excellent web site. A lot of useful info here. I am sending it to some friends ans additionally sharing in delicious.
    And naturally, thank you for your effort!

  3. I like the valuable info you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check again here regularly.
    I’m quite sure I’ll learn lots of new stuff right here!

    Best of luck for the next!

  4. Then you may really start off searching great if possibly you paint your head’s hair, you may obtain a cost-effective hair painting for any couple of bucks, its surely not high-priced in any way!
    . Should you usually have the particular locks
    color then that is a plus and also a matter significantly less to concern yourself with.
    In the future you can expect to aspiration to discover the crucial naruto outfit,
    on account of the surplus your hair which it truly is got surrounding the throat, you can find a little something sort a sister or perhaps a cosing or probably some
    fiancee you realize that appearances to acquire bought a sweater or some
    issue comparable to what offers the particular frizzy hair aspect, then a only
    matter other could be to place quite a few
    orange outfit wear more than this to be positive the hairs go across
    the primary with this orange tshirts or clothes generating
    it seem to be and incredibly feel as though this have been a single.

Leave a Reply

