Book Review: Silver Wedding – By Maeve Binchy

Maeve Binchy, the Queen of Characters, has done it again with Silver Wedding; writing every character in such a way that the reader is immediately planted in the character’s shoes.

In nearly every book I’ve read by Binchy, she has multiple characters that the reader gets to know well. In Silver Wedding, the reader is given eight pairs of shoes to fit into.  Divided into chapters, each character has a very unique life in various places, but in the end they all come together for the Silver Wedding in London.

Anna is the eldest daughter of Desmond and Deirdre Doyle who are celebrating their 25th wedding anniversary. The Doyle’s are planning more than celebrating, as their marriage isn’t full of love as some might be. Anna who unhappily works at a bookstore because her boyfriend, Joe Ashe is unemployed and she needed stability.

Anna’s brother Brendan, living over in the west of Ireland, will be of no help in planning the anniversary and neither will her young sister Helen who is struggling to be accepting into the convent where lives.

Desmond Doyle working as a Special Projects Manager for Palazzo Foods started the grocery chain with his friend Frank Quigley

Father Hurley, the priest who married Desmond and Deirdre Doyle in a shotgun wedding also living in Ireland is invited to the celebration.

Maureen, Deirdre’s maid of honor and old flame of Frank Quigley has the sad situation of dealing with her mother’s recent death and another surprise she discovers as she sorts through her mother’s papers.

Frank Quigley, married to Italian Renata Palazzo, daughter of his boss finds himself in a long-term affair with Joy East, the Palazzo company’s designer.

Reading about each character in a chapter was intriguing. It let the reader fully immerse in the character and learn about who they really were. Each character had its own life with their job, their worries and the connection to Desmond and Deirdre Doyle.

The difficult part was keeping track of each character. Since each chapter was so in-depth with each character, it made it harder to remember everything about the character in the previous chapter, especially when you put the book down for a day or two. It was more like eight short stories, which were brought together in a ninth short story at the end.

In addition to keeping track of all the main characters there was:

  1. Joe Ashe, Anna’s boyfriend
  2. Janet, Joe’s ex-wife
  3. Ken Green a friendly customer in the bookshop Anna worked at
  4. Uncle Vincent whom Brenden was living with in Ireland on the farm
  5. Grannie O’Hagan (grandmother to Anna, Brenden and Helen)
  6. Grandpa Doyle, former landowner of the farm in Ireland
  7. Sister Brigid, head of the convent Helen was staying at
  8. Sister Nessa, working with young mothers
  9. Sister Maureen, working to rehabilitate ex-prisoners
  10. Sister Joan
  11. Yvonne, young mother
  12. Simon, baby boy
  13. Mr. Suresh Patel, owner of a corner shop
  14. Marigold, Australian trainee, assistant to Desmond Doyle
  15. Renata Palazzo, Frank Quigley’s wife
  16. Carlo Palazzo, father of Renata Palazzo
  17. Gregory, Father Hurley’s nephew
  18. Laure Hurley, Father Hurley’s sister
  19. Alan Black, Laura’s husband
  20. Sophie Barry, Maureen’s mother
  21. Bernard James Barry, Maureen’s father
  22. Flora Jones, Bernard’s second wife
  23. Mr. White, Sophie’s solicitor
  24. Walter, male friend of Maureen
  25. Eileen O’Hagan, Deirdre’s mother
  26. Kevin O’Hagan, Deirdre’s father
  27. Joy East, Palazzo company’s designer
  28. David, man who desires Joy East
  29. Barbara, Jack, Gerard, friends of Granny O’Hagan
  30. Tony, Granny O’Hagan’s boyfriend

In addition to the eight characters who are the focus, there are an additional 30 characters mentioned throughout the book. I may have missed a few, but this brings the counted total to 38 characters. It was hard to keep track of each person and how they fit in at the end.

This book has a table of contents at the front, but a family tree and character web may also have been helpful. Binchy could have aided the reader just a little more when she started a new chapter and referred to a character she already mentioned by giving a small reminder of who they were or only referring to the minor characters instead of naming them.

Silver Wedding brings everyone together again in the end, but it is advisable to read the book from start to finish in one sitting or at least without taking too many breaks. With all the characters, this book requires careful attention.

About Nicole Basaraba

Nicole Basaraba is a Canadian writer focusing on topics of travel (Mondays), writing and literature (Wednesdays), lifestyle (Fridays) and her experiences living in the capital city of Europe: Brussels, Belgium.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Book Review: Silver Wedding – By Maeve Binchy

  1. I visited various sites however the audio feature for audio
    songs current at this web site is genuinely fabulous.

  2. I for all time emailed this web site post page to all my associates, because if like to read it next my contacts
    will too.

  3. blogspot.se says:

    Hi! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are
    you using for this website? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m
    looking at options for another platform. I would
    be awesome if you could point me in the direction of
    a good platform.

  4. You actually make it seem really easy along with your presentation however
    I find this matter to be actually one thing which I feel I might by no means understand.
    It kind of feels too complicated and extremely vast for me.
    I’m having a look forward to your subsequent submit, I’ll try to get the hang
    of it!

  5. Can you tell us more about this? I’d like to
    find out some additional information.

  6. I’m not sure why but this web site is loading very
    slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it
    a problem on my end? I’ll check back later and see if the problem
    still exists.

  7. I constantly spent my half an hour to read this webpage’s articles everyday along with a mug of
    coffee.

  8. I don’t even understand how I finished up here, but I believed this post was once good.
    I don’t realize who you might be but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if
    you happen to aren’t already. Cheers!

  9. I constantly spent my half an hour to read this website’s posts daily along
    with a cup of coffee.

  10. Howdy! I understand this is sort of off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does operating a well-established website like yours require
    a massive amount work? I am brand new to operating
    a blog however I do write in my diary on a daily basis.
    I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share
    my experience and views online. Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips
    for brand new aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

  11. Everything is very open with a clear clarification of the issues.
    It was really informative. Your website is very useful.
    Many thanks for sharing!

  12. Wonderful web site. A lot of helpful info here. I’m sending it to a few
    pals ans also sharing in delicious. And naturally, thank you
    in your sweat!

  13. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and
    in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Any way I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  14. Pretty! This has been an incredibly wonderful article.
    Thanks for supplying these details.

  15. Yes! Finally someone writes about garcinia kidney.

  16. Noni Juice says:

    Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular post!
    It’s the little changes that produce the most significant changes.
    Thanks for sharing!

  17. Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the internet the easiest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I definitely get irked while people think about worries that they plainly
    don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side-effects ,
    people could take a signal. Will likely be
    back to get more. Thanks

  18. I usually do not create a leave a response, but after reading through a few of the
    responses here Book Review: Silver Wedding – By Maeve Binchy | Nicole Basaraba’s Uni-Verse-City.
    I do have a couple of questions for you if you tend not to mind.

    Is it just me or do a few of these responses come across like they are written by brain dead
    individuals? 😛 And, if you are writing
    on other online sites, I would like to keep up with everything new you
    have to post. Could you post a list of the complete urls of all your shared pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  19. It’s really a cool and useful piece of information. I am glad that you simply shared this
    useful info with us. Please stay us up to date like this.
    Thank you for sharing.

  20. I was recommended this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is
    written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty.
    You’re wonderful! Thanks!

  21. Great information. Lucky me I recently found your website by chance (stumbleupon).
    I’ve saved as a favorite for later!

    – cliquez ici
    – cliquez ici
    – cliquez ici
    – cliquez ici
    – cliquez ici
    – cliquez ici

  22. It is even more ideal that the attorney has represented clients
    against the same insurance company before. You have to look for a law firm that offers you unique attention that you deserve.
    Not at all, in many occasions, car accident lawyers perform a vital role in increasing
    the claimant.

  23. What’s up, after reading this amazing paragraph i am also glad
    to share my familiarity here with friends.

  24. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me
    to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme?
    Superb work!

  25. I’ve been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any
    interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for
    me. Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made
    good content as you did, the internet will be a lot more useful than ever
    before.

  26. Magnificent items from you, man. I’ve have in mind your stuff previous
    to and you are just too great. I actually like
    what you’ve acquired here, really like what you
    are saying and the best way in which you say it. You are making it enjoyable and you continue to care for to keep it smart.

    I cant wait to read far more from you. That
    is actually a terrific web site.

  27. natural herb says:

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to
    this superb blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to brand new updates and will talk about this blog with my Facebook group.
    Chat soon!

  28. weight loss says:

    Thanks designed for sharing such a fastidious idea, piece of writing is nice, thats
    why i have read it entirely

  29. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an extremely long
    comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t
    show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyway, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

  30. We do contemplate all the concepts you may have unveiled within your article. There’re really effective and can surely work. Even now, the threads are far too fast for freshies. May possibly you want stretch these folks a tad coming from subsequent time frame? Wanted article.

  31. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was wondering what all is needed to get set up?
    I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% positive. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Appreciate it

  32. Source says:

    Howdy his dad fellow member! I wish to declare that this informative article is definitely astounding, nice written and are avalable having close to important infos Social Media Job. I will view a lot more content like this .

  33. This is my first time go to see at here and i am really pleassant to read everthing at alone
    place.

  34. diet tips says:

    wonderful issues altogether, you just won a new
    reader. What would you recommend in regards to your put up that you made
    a few days ago? Any sure?

  35. I don’t even know the way I finished up here, however I believed this publish
    used to be great. I do not recognise who you are but certainly you are
    going to a well-known blogger for those who aren’t already.
    Cheers!

  36. Do you have a spam problem on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was wanting to know your situation; we
    have developed some nice practices and we are looking to trade
    methods with others, please shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  37. Zoila says:

    Hello! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing a blog
    post or vice-versa? My website covers a lot of the same topics as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other.

    If you’re interested feel free to shoot me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Awesome blog by the way!

  38. weight loss says:

    I think this is among the such a lot significant information for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. But wanna observation on some general things, The web site taste is
    ideal, the articles is actually excellent : D. Excellent job, cheers

  39. Victorina says:

    A fascinating discussion is worth comment. There’s no doubt that that you need to publish more about this
    subject, it might not be a taboo matter but generally people do not speak
    about such issues. To the next! Cheers!!

Leave a Reply

