Lots of sun not so much writing, ROW80 check in

When I arrived in Bucharest, Romania the temperature was 26 at 10:00 at night. In Brussels, I would have been in a pants and sweater long before 7:00pm, but not here.

I don’t know what the exact tempurature was yesterday, but I think it was around +35 and I sat in the sun on the balcony drinking coffee in the morning. I couldn’t help but think that it would make for a perfect “office” to write in, but of course that didn’t happen. Ok so I posted a blog on a book review, but I didn’t even open my WIP.

Working on a tiny laptop makes typing hard since the keys are so close together and I often hit the wrong word or find that what I’m typing magically likes to jump up a few sentences into the middle of another.

On Monday Honey Bear and I are leaving for a 4 day road trip…which also means less writing. I unfortunately didn’t have extra time this week before my holiday to write a lot to build up a stash of extra words.

I was able to edit/write 5, 127 words to contribute to my WIP. So I made my 5,000 words per week goal. But I think for the next two weeks, I will be lucky to get in just a few writing sessions…

Hows it going for everyone else? Please let there be other holiday takers in ROW80…

About Nicole Basaraba

Nicole Basaraba is a Canadian writer focusing on topics of travel (Mondays), writing and literature (Wednesdays), lifestyle (Fridays) and her experiences living in the capital city of Europe: Brussels, Belgium.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lots of sun not so much writing, ROW80 check in

  1. Dave says:

    Hotter here, Nicole. Hope you brought your camera so you can post us some pictures of your road trip.

  2. jamilajamison says:

    Don’t feel too bad if you’re not able to get in too many writing sessions in the upcoming days, Nicole. It sounds like you’re on-track, and it’s important to take the time to relax and enjoy your lovely holiday. Be safe, and have lots of fun!

    • Thanks Jamila. Having a full time job and writing in the evenings does make for one tired girl. I would like to try to enjoy my vacation without feeling bad for missing writing sessions. I’ve also found that being in a different setting than the one I’m writing about gives me a different persepctive on my writing….hard to get into the right mindframe. Sounds weird but its true. Thanks for the comment.

  3. Julie Glover says:

    Well, your setting sounds much nicer than mine was! But I took about a week and a half off from ROW80 while working at a kids’ camp. Now I’m trying to get back in the groove. Relax and enjoy the vacation! Make a little progress and call it a good thing!

  4. Em says:

    Hello fellow holiday taker! I think the fact you made your 5000 words per week goal is great but I agree, you shouldn’t feel bad for having a bit of a break. It will make you fresher when you come back and settle down to more writing. I am hoping to do something towards my writing next week when I am away with friends but it will be a bit hit and miss.

    Have a great road trip!

Leave a Reply

